September 13, 2021: Regular Meeting Minutes

Arnold Public Schools

Minutes of the Board of Education

Regular Meeting 8:16 p.m.

September 13, 2021

Members Present: 

Duane Bowers,

Eric Nelson

Justin Strasburg

Joe Cool,

Shane Cool,

Joel Morgan – Superintendent,

Chanc McIntosh – Principal,

Michelle Preston – Secretary to the Board of Education

Members Absent:

Merle Bierman _____

A Meeting of the Board of Education of the School District of Arnold, in the County of
Custer, in the State of Nebraska School District No. 89 of Custer County, Nebraska, was convened in open and Public Session immediately following the Resolution Hearing on the 13th day of September, 2021, at Arnold Public School Commons Area, in said District. Notice of the Meeting was given in advance thereof according to Law by Proper Publication, a designated method for giving notice to the School District, A copy of the Proof of Publication being attached to these minutes. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to all members of the Board of Education. Availability of the Agenda and the Purpose of the meeting was communicated in the advanced notice of the meeting to the members of this meeting.

Board of Education met in regular session Mon, September 13, 2021 at 8:16 P.M. with five members present. Bierman absent.

Meeting called to order
Motion S. Cool, seconded J. Cool to excuse Merle Bierman. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Motion Strasburg, seconded S. Cool to approve the agenda. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Motion Strasburg, seconded J. Cool to approve the minutes of the last regular and special board meetings. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Motion J. Cool, seconded S. Cool to approve claims totaling $258,573.23. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Visitors & Guests:
New South Loup Athletic Director Debra Liewer spoke to the board and couple community members were in attendance.


COVID-19 Update


Motion Nelson, seconded S. Cool to approve reconition of Arnold Education Association (AEA)

as exclusive bargaining unit for teachers for 2023-2024 negotiations. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Motion J. Cool, seconded Strasburg to approve 2021-2022 budget as presented. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Motion S. Cool, seconded Nelson to approve 2021-2022 Tax Request Resolution. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Motion Nelson, seconded Strasburg to approve 2017 Thomas Minitour Bus Purchase. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Motion Strasburg, seconded S. Cool to approve surplus property for disposal by Superintendent. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Accepted Principal and Superintendent Reports Meeting adjourned by Bowers at 9:00 P.M.

To be considered for payment bills must be in school office by noon on Thursday before the Board Meeting on Tue.

The agenda is a continuous one and is available for examination during the regular hours at the office of the Superintendent of Schools.

January 19, 2022

Duct Tape Challenge Update

Students are starting to get into a routine because the AR points are climbing. Mr. McIntosh may still be feeling pretty safe, but we'll see. The goal this year is 3,500 points and students are at 665 points as a school.

Although class sizes and the length of books vary, many classes set their own goals as well as the school-wide goal so here is a breakdown of points earned by class:

K - 71 points
1st - 23 points
2nd - 13 points
3rd - 55 points
4th - 41 points
5th - 4 points
6th - 118 points
7th - 106 points
8th - 25 points
9th - 47 points
10th - 42 points
11th - 113 points
12th - 7 points

It will be exciting to see how colorful Mr. McIntosh is with the various duct tape if students end up reaching their school-wide goal. Happy reading!!

Diviners Cast List Chosen

Congratulations to the cast of The Diviners by Jim Leonard Jr.


CC Showers – Colbi Smith

Basil Bennett – Trey Connell

Melvin Wilder – Rio Remund

Dewey Maples – Logan Recoy

Goldie Short – Delaney Rogers

Ferris Layman – Lance Jones

Buddy Layman – Reagan Cool

Jennie Mae Layman – Ella Cool

Norma Henshaw – Gracie Neth

Eugene Brown – Johnathon Lamphear

Luella  Bennett – Riata Remund

Well Diggers/Townspeople/Church Goers:

Ruth Davis – Harmony Borah

Doris Williams – Samantha Wonch

Shirley Smith – Danah Baldwin

Darlene Henshaw – Anna Tullis

Beverly Thomas – Taylor Hanna-Miles

Raymond Lee – Jamie Tickle

Early White – Ethan Furne

Rose Anderson – Ivy Tullis


Jayden Hanna-Miles, Silas Cool, Clay Witthuhn, Dolores Duponcheel, Ashlea Baldwin, and Kylee Allen.

Upcoming Activities

Activities for the week of January 17th:

  • Monday- JH BB vs Ansley-Litchfield @ Callaway- 1:00PM- Girls at HS, Boys at Community Center
  • Monday- Girls Wrestling @ Battle Creek- 3:00PM
  • Tuesday- JV/Varsity BB @ Loup City- 4:45PM- NO JV Girls, 2 quarters JV Boys, followed by Varsity
  • Wednesday- Custer County Spelling Bee @ Ansley- 9:00AM
  • Thursday- JV/Varsity BB @ Ansley- 4:30PM- 2 Quarters JV girls, 2 quarters JV Boys, followed by Varsity
  • Friday- South Loup Wrestling Invite @ Callaway- 11:00AM
  • Saturday- Speech @ Broken Bow

Activities Calendar at A Glance