March 8, 2022: Regular Meeting Minutes

Arnold Public Schools

Minutes of the Board of Education

Regular Meeting 7:00 p.m.

March 8, 2022

Members Present: 

Duane Bowers,

Eric Nelson

Joe Cool,

Shane Cool,

Merle Bierman

Joel Morgan – Superintendent,

Chanc McIntosh – Principal,

Michelle Preston – Secretary to the Board of Education

Members Absent:

Justin Strasburg

A Meeting of the Board of Education of the School District of Arnold, in the County of
Custer, in the State of Nebraska School District No. 89 of Custer County, Nebraska, was convened in open and Public Session at 7:00 P.M. on the 8th day of March, 2022, at Arnold Public School East Campus, in said District. Notice of the Meeting was given in advance thereof according to Law by Proper Publication, a designated method for giving notice to the School District, A copy of the Proof of Publication being attached to these minutes. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to all members of the Board of Education. Availability of the Agenda and the Purpose of the meeting was communicated in the advanced notice of the meeting to the members of this meeting.

Board of Education met in regular session Tues, March 8, 2022 at 7:02 P.M. with five members present Strasburg was absent. Motion Bierman, seconded Nelson to excuse Strasburg.

Meeting called to order
Motion J. Cool, seconded Bierman to approve the agenda. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Motion S. Cool, seconded Bierman to approve the minutes of the last board meeting. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Motion Bierman, seconded J. Cool to approve claims totaling $262,613.98. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Visitors & Guests: Members of the community.


COVID-19 Update


Motion Bierman, seconded S. Cool to approve Lawn Care bids as discussed. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Motion Bierman, seconded Nelson to approve PK-12 Device purchases. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Motion J. Cool seconded Bierman to approve the 2022-2023 School Calendar. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Motion S. Cool, seconded Nelson to approve ESU10 Licensed Mental Health Practitioner Contract. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Motion Bierman, seconded S. Cool to approve 2022-2024 Superintendent Contract Amendment as discussed. Unanimous on roll call vote.

Accepted Principal and Superintendent Reports

Next regular meeting will be April 12, 2022, at 8:00 P.M. at the East Campus.

Meeting adjourned by Bowers at 8:10 P.M.

To be considered for payment bills must be in the school office by noon on Thursday before the Board Meeting on Tue.

The agenda is a continuous one and is available for examination during the regular hours at the office of the Superintendent of Schools.

May 20, 2022

Duct Tape Challenge Update

Students are starting to get into a routine because the AR points are climbing. Mr. McIntosh may still be feeling pretty safe, but we'll see. The goal this year is 3,500 points and students are at 665 points as a school.

Although class sizes and the length of books vary, many classes set their own goals as well as the school-wide goal so here is a breakdown of points earned by class:

K - 71 points
1st - 23 points
2nd - 13 points
3rd - 55 points
4th - 41 points
5th - 4 points
6th - 118 points
7th - 106 points
8th - 25 points
9th - 47 points
10th - 42 points
11th - 113 points
12th - 7 points

It will be exciting to see how colorful Mr. McIntosh is with the various duct tape if students end up reaching their school-wide goal. Happy reading!!

Diviners Cast List Chosen

Congratulations to the cast of The Diviners by Jim Leonard Jr.


CC Showers – Colbi Smith

Basil Bennett – Trey Connell

Melvin Wilder – Rio Remund

Dewey Maples – Logan Recoy

Goldie Short – Delaney Rogers

Ferris Layman – Lance Jones

Buddy Layman – Reagan Cool

Jennie Mae Layman – Ella Cool

Norma Henshaw – Gracie Neth

Eugene Brown – Johnathon Lamphear

Luella  Bennett – Riata Remund

Well Diggers/Townspeople/Church Goers:

Ruth Davis – Harmony Borah

Doris Williams – Samantha Wonch

Shirley Smith – Danah Baldwin

Darlene Henshaw – Anna Tullis

Beverly Thomas – Taylor Hanna-Miles

Raymond Lee – Jamie Tickle

Early White – Ethan Furne

Rose Anderson – Ivy Tullis


Jayden Hanna-Miles, Silas Cool, Clay Witthuhn, Dolores Duponcheel, Ashlea Baldwin, and Kylee Allen.

Upcoming Activities

Activities for the week of May 2nd:

  • Monday- HS Girls BB Meeting at lunch
  • Monday- 6-12 Spring Concert- 7:00PM
  • Tuesday- 6-10 Maps Testing- Morning
  • Tuesday- Best of the Midwest Track Meet @ Sutherland- 3:00PM
  • Wednesday- JH Track @ Gothenburg- 9:30AM
  • Thursday- 7-10 Maps Testing- Morning
  • Thursday- 5th & 6th Grade Fort Kearney Field Trip
  • Thursday- HS Golf @ St. Pat’s- 9:00AM
  • Friday- HS Track @ Arnold- 9:30AM
  • Friday- South Loup Sports Banquet @ Arnold- 6:00PM

Activities Calendar at A Glance